Department of Safety and Liaison

The Eastern Cape Department of Safety and Liaison supports the police in providing a safe and secure environment that supports growth and development through effective partnership with relevant stakeholders.

It is mandated by the Civilian Secretariat for Police Service Act (No 2) of 2011, promulgated to assist in enabling liaison and communication with stakeholders like the South African Police Service, IPID, Municipalities, the Social Transformation Cluster and other government departments and seeks to implement a partnership strategy to mobilise role-players to:

  • Strengthen service delivery by the police service to ensure the safety and security of communities.
  • Implement, promote and align the operations of the department with those of the Civilian Secretariat for Police Service in the province, the seven (7) district offices, and local municipalities.
  • Promote co-operation between the Civilian Secretariat, the police service and IPID amongst others.
  • Provide guidance to community police fora and associated structures and facilitate their proper functioning.


Our mandate for the safety sector is to realise Outcome 3 of the National Outcomes Framework that All South Africans Are and Feel Safe by 2030, as envisioned in the National Development Plan (NDP), safety is a core human right and it is a necessary condition for human development, improving quality of life and enhancing productivity. When communities do not feel safe and live in fear, the country’s economic development potential and the people’s wellbeing is negatively affected, thus hindering their ability to achieve their full potential.

A crime free and safe Eastern Cape.

To build safer communities through civilian oversight of the police and community participation in crime prevention.

  • Service excellence
  • Accountability
  • Integrity
  • Value for money
  • Equity

MEC Weziwe Tikana

Born in Cala, She is married with three children.


MEC Weziwe Tikana-Gxothiwe was born in Cala. She completed her matric at Sewushe Commercial College. She also obtained the following: Teachers’ Course at Arthur Tsengiwe, a Primary Teachers’ Diploma from Belgravia Institute, Diploma in Local Government Management from the University of Pretoria, Diploma in Labour Law from Global Business Solution.

She worked for various organisations such as the Department of Education as an Educator and Training Officer and Xhalanga Entrepreneurial Development Centre, Supervisor of Adult Basic Education at Cala Guidance Centre. She has also worked as a Senior Administration Officer at Emalahleni Local Municipality and Director: Municipal Public Participation at the Department of Local Government and Traditional Affairs. She was also a Board member of Vukani Community Radio Station.

Political Career

She is a member of the ANC and the ANC Women’s League. She serves in ANCWL National Executive Committee as a Deputy Secretary-General (DSG), she also serves in the Provincial Executive Committee and Provincial Working Committee of ANC in the Eastern Cape Province.

She served in the following structures: SADTU, Xhalanga Youth Congress. She became an REC Member of the Women’s League in the former Engcobo Region, a Committee member in the inter-regional structure of the former Ngcobo, Queenstown and mid-Karoo. She became a Treasurer of the Chris Hani Region.

She is a former Mayor of Sakhisizwe Local Municipality and former Deputy Chairperson of SALGA. She also served in the Management Committee of SALGA and also served as a Chairperson of the Governance Sub-Committee of SALGA.

On 23 May 2014, she was sworn in as the new MEC for Transport, Safety and Liaison and she is currently holding the portfolio for the second consecutive term.

MEC Weziwe Tikana

HOD Vuyani Mapolisa

Share Button